Survival of the fittest throughout the days of the week

Sweet Nothing

Between being nice and being a people pleaser, there’s a difference. You can have an opinion of your own and still be considered as nice person. Whereas a people pleaser, there’s only a one way street- believing in other people’s beliefs. Of course, your own personality plays a big factor in where you lie. Those who aren’t as sensitive and independent find it easier to be themselves without the reliance of others, while those who are sensitive and care about other people’s opinions can easily become a follower.

 

Truth be told, I’m a people pleaser. I care about what others think about me and I let their opinions define me. Along the way, people would easily take advantage of me and saying no only became harder and harder to say. I found it harder to be myself and it got to the point where I no longer knew who I was. You find yourself looking for acceptance but instead, you receive a stab in the back.

Oh you're a people pleaser? I don't think so.

Oh you’re a people pleaser? I don’t think so.

I know people are who are nice but they still have an opinion of their own. My friend, Chris, is an incredibly sweet guy and can get along with anyone. He can spark up a conversation with you with no gaps in between. Not only that, but he’s not afraid to go against other people’s opinions for the sake of his own opinion. For instance, when it comes to people with authority, how many of us would dare go against their word? That leaves us with only the delinquents and Chris. I remember how Chris told me a story of how during his basketball game, his coach took him out to address what he was doing wrong and told him an alternative way to run the play.  Instead of leaving it at just that, Chris argued against his coach and reasoned that his coach’s statement was contradictory.That’s only one of the many occurrences where he got head to head with his coach. In the end of the season when the awards banquet came, Chris won the coach’s award.

tumblr_n1okt86XIc1r0ix14o1_500

Respect.

If you were to choose between the two, which one would you want to be?

-Angie

Comments on: "Sweet Nothing" (2)

  1. Wow, Chris is truly a great guy. And I wish you the best of luck in your journey of finding your true identity, Angie, but just so you know, I am 100% sure I will end up loving you no matter who you decide to be. Your bubbly personality never fails to brighten up my day! -Michelle

    P.S. that basketball GIF had me laughing for a good five minutes straight.

    • This is the sweetest- it’s people like you that I’m grateful for. Hahaha I was hoping someone would appreciate the GIF! Thanks for taking the time to read it Michelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

